To Rise Above Cover Reveal

The third and final novel in the His Redemption series is coming next month, June 18th. To build some hype for this last chapter in Matthias and Aurianna’s story, I am revealing the cover today, and sharing another snippet.


“You didn’t visit him, when he was last here,” Oracle noted, fingers intertwined and golden eyes boring into Rielle’s mind. The unflinching gaze of the Goddess. Suddenly this “friendly chat” felt like an interrogation. Much like the kind she used to be in charge of, when she was High Inquisitor, and not Lady Commander. “Why not?”

Rielle sighed before answering, “Because Matthias and I had a history, and I wasn’t going to be able to impartial while questioning him. Why are we talking about this?”

“I am trying to understand the woman who will be leading us. Why didn’t you visit him outside the scope of your duty?”

“Why would I want to visit a demon who mocked me with the face of my lost love?” Rielle shot back, “The Matthias I loved died over a decade ago.”

“So you didn’t think it were possible for him to be redeemed?” Oracle prodded.

Rielle shook her head, “At the time, no. Whatever he had done for Aurianna, he had still taken her to Baath Me’el in the first place. He was uncooperative constantly begged for death.” Oracle might have been able to see beyond, but everyone else had to rely on the facts laid out before them.

“Clearly I was wrong, given the reports we received from Monsford. That he stood in defense of the town, against the Host of Torment, and that his magic helped bring down the demon dragon.” Rielle shrugged, keeping her emotions off her face. “If Monsford wants to keep him, so be it. I’ve moved on, and apparently, so has he.”

“And if he comes back?” Oracle prompted.

“Why? Is he?” Rielle retorted, not used to being on this side of the questioning. The Oracle would have been one hell of an inquisitor.

“Perhaps.”

“I don’t see why he would. The only thing that awaits him here is a trial for the decade he served Baath Me’el.”

“Because the path of redemption retreads old ground.”

Leave a comment